RSS

Summer Squash Mini Frittatas

04 Aug

Breakfast. They say it’s the most important meal of the day.  For years this was the meal I skipped the most.  With Jeff’s recent diagnosis of the Big “C”, my days have consisted of a barrage of doctors appointments, lab tests, scans and MRIs; all while holding down a full-time job. Phew!  Ironically, breakfast is the only meal I have had time for lately.  All the experts that tell us to eat a good breakfast to carry you through the day are 100% right.

I’ve been cooking for one in the morning.  Jeff and the kids are usually sleeping.  I decided to make myself some mini frittatas.  They are quick and easy to make and they store well in the refrigerator or freezer.  I used some of the red onion, patty pan squash and zucchini that were in my CSA box this week.  I also added some greek yogurt to give it a hint of tang.  They came out perfect.

Supplies: (Recipe makes 2 mini frittatas)

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 small zucchini, sliced
  • 1 patty pan squash, diced
  • 1 small red onion, thinly sliced or diced (I had some adorable baby red onions in my box, I sliced them into mini rings)
  • 2 heaping tablespoons Greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon fresh sage, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon fresh rosemary, chopped
  • S&P to taste

Spray a skillet with non stick spray and sautee the onion, patty pan and zucchini on medium high until just barely soft.  Set aside to cool down a bit.

In a mixing bowl mix the eggs, yogurt, chopped herbs, cheese, salt and pepper until the eggs are pale yellow and have fluffed up a bit.

Add cooled veg to egg mixture and ladle into well greased ramekins or whatever smallish vessel you may have.

Set on a baking sheet and bake at 400F for 35 minutes.  A knife will run clear when inserted into the center. They will rise up a bit and be a gorgeous golden brown.

Let cool completely.  Run a butter knife along the edge of the frittata to loosen it and invert onto your plate.  Garnish with whatever you like.  For me it was a piece of toast and a glass of orange juice.  Now, I think I am ready to face the day.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Summer Squash Mini Frittatas

  1. vsky57

    August 4, 2011 at 9:12 AM

    This is perfect for the Cruise phrase of the Dukan Diet!

    Thank you.

     
  2. Jen

    August 6, 2011 at 2:40 PM

    This recipe would make me actually consider eating eggs(lol, which is saying alot because I HATE eggs). Might look at it closer see if I can cut back an egg or add something else for different texture but I love the use of summer veggies healthy, easy to go breakfast!

     
  3. themexcellentcook

    August 6, 2011 at 5:15 PM

    This looks spectacular! I do have a question though. Do you think it would work equally well with egg white? I ask since my husband is allergic to yolk.

     
  4. Monique Serpas (@MoniqueSerpasPT)

    August 14, 2011 at 11:43 AM

    I had a guest over and made these for breakfast this morning. Yummy. I didn’t have yogurt and only had squash, added some ricotta, reduced rosemary and added chives. Thanks for sharing, great idea.

     

Leave a Reply

 
