RSS

Pan Seared Potatoes w/ a Basil-Garlic Aoili

29 Sep

There is something about potatoes that makes me happy.  They are the ultimate comfort food.  I don’t think I will ever tire of them. I just so happen to have gotten some pretty new potatoes in my CSA box and decided to whip myself up some for a late night supper.

I decided to steam them to cook them, then pan seared them in olive oil.  This gave the potatoes a creamy center with a wonderful crispy outside. Yum!  I made a quick aoili with some left over lemon basil to top it all off.

Supplies:

  • New potatoes, cleaned and cut in half
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • S&P

For the Aoili:

  • 1/2 C low-fat mayo
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 handful basil
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • S&P
  • Skim milk (optional)

Steam your potatoes until you can stick a knife in the center easily.  Let cool to room temperature.

In a large skillet add potatoes to hot oil cut side down.  Don’t touch and let sear for 2-3 minutes or until a nice golden brown. Flip over and sear the other side.  Transfer to a paper towel lined plate, sprinkle with salt and pepper and set aside.

To make the aioli:

In a food processor chop the basil and garlic together until fine.  Add to mayo and add lemon juice.  Mix together well and season with salt and pepper to your liking.  I like my aoili on the thinner side to make it more like a sauce so I add skim milk until I get my desired consistency.

Spoon aoili over warm potatoes and thoroughly enjoy!

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Pan Seared Potatoes w/ a Basil-Garlic Aoili

  1. Paul

    September 30, 2011 at 9:43 AM

    Another wonderful picture.

     
  2. Edward Nicolas

    July 26, 2014 at 5:08 AM

    Amazing….I tried it and it’s just….Perfect! It’s such a wonderful dish…

     
    • Sarah Nett

      July 26, 2014 at 8:09 AM

      Thank you!

       

Leave a Reply

 
