RSS

Morning Waffle Sandwich

29 Jan

I was channel surfing yesterday and came across a show on the Cooking Channel called Hungry Girl.  Let me back track for a minute here.  I am coming off a 21 day Daniel Fast that I did with my church.  For 21 days I had no meat, dairy, animal product, sugar, white flours, stuff like that. The only beverage I had was water.  By yesterday, I was so ready for some food.

So back to Hungry Girl.  It’s a show hosted by a lady around my age, who teaches you how to cook/shop low-fat and low-cal. I can get into that since I just lost 20 lbs and want to keep the weight loss momentum going.  This episode featured a breakfast sandwich called the Morning Waffle Dip (I left the dip out of my sandwich. I personally don’t like to dip egg sandwiches into maple syrup).  I knew that was what I wanted for my first post-fast meal.  It was soooo good!

Basically the sandwich is egg beaters, bacon and fat free cheese stuffed between two toasted multi-grain waffles.  Easy!  I was a little sketch about the egg beaters, but they were good, real good.  On the show, she had a small serving of sugar-free maple syrup to dip your sandwich into if you so desire.

Supplies:

  • 2 whole-grain or multi-grain waffles, toasted
  • 1/2 c egg beaters
  • 1 slice thick cut bacon, fried
  • 1 slice fat-free American Cheese

Fry up your bacon and set aside on a paper towel to absorb any grease.  Microwave your egg beaters in a microwave safe bowl for a minute on high. Stir, then cook for another minute.  Toast your waffles.

Place the cheese on a warm waffle, layer the eggs then bacon. Top with other waffle and slice in half.  For under 300 calories, this one is definitely a keeper. Enjoy!

*Update on Jeff:  He did 4 months of Carbo/Taxil that seemed to work and shrunk his tumors down to the size of a pea. The day after New Years we were told it had stopped working.  We prayed for Jeff to get the new melanoma drug Yervoy and our prayers were answered.  He stared Yervoy Jan 16th.  Jeff’s body isn’t taking to it so well and is experiencing every side effect possible.  He wound up in the ER with a urinary tract infection and a possible case of hepatitis.  He has an MRI  tomorrow evening to see if the tumors in his spine are pinching nerves causing him the severe back/leg pain he is having.  He has been laid up in bed going on 4 weeks now.  He may not get to continue with Yervoy (his last saving grace).  I will be praying HARD that Jeff gets to continue with Yervoy (his other option is nothing, wait it out until he needs hospice).  So if you are a believer, say a prayer for Jeff.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Morning Waffle Sandwich

  1. paul

    January 29, 2012 at 8:24 AM

    You’re back! Big Kermit-style YAYYY, and YAYY to Jeff: keep fighting!

    Now, about “channel surging” – how many extra remotes did you deploy to do this?

     
    • Sarah Nett

      January 29, 2012 at 8:45 AM

      Fixed. 2 hours of sleep. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

       
  2. Lauri Moegenburg

    January 31, 2012 at 6:31 PM

    Am praying for all of you. Hoping for strength and peace ! However, very happy to see you blogging again. Am a High Cross subscriber, and have enjoyed your humor and your recipes many times. God Bless !

     

Leave a Reply

 
