RSS

Daily Archives: July 19, 2008

Zucchini Bread

I got four really nice zucchinis in my CSA box as well this week. I figure I better get creative. I normally sautee zucchini with olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic. That can get boring. I might try a ratatoullie later this week. Tonight I was craving something sweet-ish. I went to my tried and true All Recipe website to find a nice zucchini bread recipe. I hit pay dirt.

Zucchini Bread

  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 2/3 cups packed brown sugar
  • 2 cups grated zucchini
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup raisins (optional..I omitted them)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

  1. In a large bowl, beat eggs well. Add oil, brown sugar, zucchini, and vanilla; stir well. Blend in flour, cinnamon, baking powder, soda, and salt. Stir in raisins and nuts. Pour batter into a greased and floured 9 x 5 inch loaf pan.
  2. Bake at 325 degrees F (165 degrees C) for 1 hour. Cool.

I need to add that this recipe makes two loaves. Two of the most yummy loaves of zucchini bread you will ever eat.

Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 19, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Kale…

I had gotten an nice bunch of Kale in my CSA box this week.  I’ve never cooked or eaten kale before, so I thought why not try it tonight.  The kids are gone, so it was just me for supper tonight.  I trimmed the stems of the kale and chopped it up into nice bite sized pieces.  I had some bacon left over from BLTs, so I chopped it and browned it in my dutch oven then took the bacon pieces out and drained all but 3 tbs of bacon grease.  I minced three garlic gloves and sauteed them in the bacon grease until clear (but not brown). I added the kale and a cup of water and cooked until the water was gone.  I put the kale in a bowl…sprinkled the bacon on top and that was that.

I haven’t determined if I like Kale or not.  This didn’t turn out bad, but it wasn’t my favorite. Maybe I just need to get used to it since I don’t usually eat greens.  The bacon adds a nice and much needed saltiness to it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 19, 2008 in Uncategorized