RSS

Zucchini Carpaccio

28 Jul

It’s been hot in Wisconsin. Unbearably hot.  Even though I have central air in my house, the heat sucks all my motivation away when I get home from work.  The last thing I have wanted to do was turn on my oven. The grill is our best friend during the summer.

I’ve made a lot of salads this past week using almost everything in my CSA box.  Salads work for me.  They are quick to make, and they fill me up during the day preventing me from hitting the vending machine at work.

My boyfriend made some chicken on the grill and asked me to make a side dish.  I took my last lonely zucchini and decided to make a carpacchio.

What is a carpaccio you ask?  Technically it is raw beef or fish thinly sliced and dressed with a sauce.  I’m not a fan of raw meat or fish so I took poetic justice and substituted with zucchini. I dressed it up with a honey-lemon dressing that was so thick and luscious, I had to make more to store in the refrigerator to use during the week.

Supplies:

  • 1 zucchini, thinly sliced with a very sharp knife or mandolin
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1.5 tablespoons honey
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • black pepper, freshly cracked if you can
  • pepitas or pistachios

Slice your zucchini as thin as you can get it while keeping the piece intact.

(Yes, I am aware that I am in dire need of a manicure) 🙂

Set your zucchini slices off to the side and make your dressing.

Whisk together the oil, lemon juice and honey until well combined.  You should get this beautiful, golden dressing.

Plate your zucchini on a serving platter, drizzle with dressing.  Top with cracked black pepper and pepitas.  I garnished mine with a little bit of lemon zest.  If you feel the need to add salt, go ahead.  I thought it was great without. It’s all a matter of preference.

This is a nice alternative to a lettuce salad.  You know it’s good when your picky eater asks for seconds.  Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a comment